Leave a comment

Mozart and the Clarinet

Mozart’s clarinet concerto in A Major, K622 and his clarinet quintet also  in A Major, K581  are exquisite.  Both works were composed for Anton Stadler, an Austrian virtuoso clarinet and basset horn player.  The clarinet concerto was written in October 1791 two months before Mozart ‘s death. Mozart’s love of the clarinet permeates the music. The second movement Adagio of the concerto will rend your heart.

Amsterdam Sinfonietta with Martin Frost


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: